Persian poetry

Rumi

I was in the garden in the morning and I was gathering roses
And all the time I was afraid that the gardener would see me.
The gardener, however, only spoke these kind words:
‘A few roses are nothing as I give you the complete garden’.

Hafez

During tyranny the treasures of the world have no value;
During grief the delights of existence have no value;
The seven thousand years of joy of the world
Compared to the sorrow of seven days of adversity have no value

Jami

We have run on the path of love all our life,
We have searched with great force for union with You all our life.
To catch one glimpse of You is better for our sight
Than the beauty of earthly beauties all our life.

Maghrebi

No one by himself
Can find the way to Him.
You have to walk with His feet,
Who goes to His street.

One thought on “Persian poetry

  1. The first was beautiful, the second depressing and the last two fairly irrelevant from my point of view.

    Joy >

Comments are closed.