The ‘ancient science’ according to La Violette

“The ancient science begins its explanation of the origin of physical things by describing the divine primordial ether. It characterises this ethereal substance as actively transmuting, and shows how the interplay of its processes results in the fetal emergence of a particle of matter, in effect an ordered wave pattern in the ether.

By starting at a metaphysical etheric level to describe how these generative processes operate, these myths and lore tell their story of creation from a point of view removed from the immediate physical world. This clearly indicates that these early theoreticians were capable of a very sophisticated level of abstraction, certainly far greater than palaeontologists traditionally ascribe to Stone Age people.

In the ancient Egyptian story of Osiris, process is personified by the god Osiris, whose death and resurrection form the central theme of the myth. Osiris was associated with flowing water, the life force in plants, the reproductive power in animals, and more generally with the vital activity that maintains and propagates the order of life, all metaphors that collectively imply the notion of order-creating activity.

Coffin Text 330 relates Osiris with both process and ‘the Order,’ Mayet, the natural order of the world:
‘Whether I live or die I am Osiris, I enter and reappear through you, I decay in you, I grow in you, I fall down in you, I fall upon my side.
The gods are living in me for I live and grow in the corn that sustains the Honoured Ones. I cover the earth, whether I live or die I am Barley, I am not destroyed.
I have entered the Order, I rely upon the Order. I become Master of the Order, I emerge in the Order.’

Especially during the Old Kingdom, the earliest period of dynastic Egypt, these mythical characters were not regarded as personal ‘gods’ or divine personalities requiring spiritual worship, although cults later emerged that did practice such idolatry. Rather, gods such as Mum and Osiris were symbols of specific functional principles or aspects of nature.

For this reason, some Egyptologists, such as Schwaller de Lubicz, refer to them as Neters rather than gods; Neter is synonymous with the Hindu concept of deva. “

(These are extracts from ‘Genesis of the Cosmos: the ancient science of continuous creation’ by Paul A. Violette, Ph.D., a mythologist, and a highly qualified and experienced researcher in a number of scientific disciplines.)

Comment: Food for thought? A new take on cosmology, drawing upon ‘ancient science.’

