A Seeker wanders and wonders – Seeking solace from Hinduism

‘Pack your little brown bag with a few things and go north to seek spiritual development,’ advised the spirit of my uncle (through the clairvoyant). In life, my uncle had not seen this cabin bag which had accompanied me to Australia. Yet, I was not surprised, because he had already indicated that he knew what had happened to me long after his death.

His advice did not surprise me. He had explained his manifestation before us by saying that ’higher beings’ had sent him to offer me spiritual guidance. Yet, I had known from my boyhood that he had had no time for temples, priests and rituals.

Furthermore, I had, since retirement, chosen to be a metaphysical Hindu, with no interest in the rituals of my faith. I sought to understand the philosophy of Hinduism. Now that I was free of any obligation or responsibility towards family and society, and since I was living alone in separation from my family (but not by choice) in what I refer to as my retirement cave (far more comfortable than a cave in the Himalayas), I could spend my time expanding my knowledge, and in contemplation and some meditation.

The aftermath of the confluence of a sustained tribal discrimination (not racism) near the end of my career, and the breakdown of my marriage (and subsequent separation from my offspring), was significant psychological stress. I was not aware then that I was being isolated by the spirit world to do what I needed to do without deviation.

In these circumstances, my efforts to meditate seemed successful. However, I did wonder at times whether I had instead gone to sleep. How would I have known the difference? However, my stress level did diminish.

I also read repeatedly the Upanishads, the highest level of Hindu philosophy, and began the process whereby my faith began to give me an understanding of our place in the Cosmos. This also gave me a great appreciation of the wisdom of Hinduism, and its spirituality.

While I appreciate that we drink at whatever well is available, I am indeed fortunate in the well at which I found myself.

