Proper insults

Time for a break from some serious matters. Also time to appreciate the most expressive English language. Often, a quotation could hide great wisdom. This is one I acquired from my father when I was a pup: ‘The dogs may bark, but the caravan moves on.’ That has been my operational guide during a most difficult life; and I do believe that I am sane, but also at peace both mentally and spiritually. To be able to forgive one’s persecutors is a necessary pre-requisite.

“He had delusions of adequacy.” – Walter Kerr•

“He has all the virtues I dislike and none of the vices I admire.” -Winston Churchill• ”

I have never killed a man, but I have read many obituaries with great pleasure.” Clarence Darrow•

“He has never been known to use a word that might send a reader to the dictionary.” – William Faulkner (about Ernest Hemingway).•

“Thank you for sending me a copy of your book; I’ll waste no time reading it.” – Moses Hadas•

“I didn’t attend the funeral, but I sent a nice letter saying I approved of it.” – Mark Twain•

“He has no enemies, but is intensely disliked by his friends..” – Oscar Wilde•

